Discord   |   Play games and chat with our PC gaming community in Discord.
Launch Discord  
Photo

Arma 3 Learning to script, I'm a complete noob sources.

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Modoc

Modoc
  • Get off my lawn!!!

• 1,113 posts

Let me start by saying I'm not a coder/scripter. I'm more than happy just playing other people's work and products. I know just enough to have Paronity want to throw me in jail and execute me for even wanting to look at his code, let alone touch it, but I have these 2 small, well 1 1/2, small voices asking me daily to make them a co-op mission for Arma 3. So here I am, looking at as many sources for Arma 3 scripting and code that I can find. I want to learn to actually do it though, not just copy and paste which is probably allot faster, but I want to understand it while I'm doing it. That means starting at the basics.

I know some of our Altis players also want to know this, and would like to know where to look to get a good starting point. I look everywhere when I look for knowledge, anyguide, page, wiki, or conversation that I can. While some of the places look horrible, the actual guides for learning aren't that bad and can help an absolute noob like myself.

BI's forum introduction for new scripters thread.

https://forums.bistu...-new-scripters/

And yes, I found this site from BI's forums about learning to script single player, and it's bad, but the scripting guides for a noob are well written. Look at the fock scripting guides 1, 2, and 3 they have some good noob info.

http://fockers.moonf...ting/4566406735

Next is BI's wiki for Arma 3 scripting commands, it lists hopefully every command with a brief description.

https://community.bi...Commands_Arma_3

I'm sure there are more places to look, and I will, I just thought I would share what I'm looking at now that I find helpful. I hope to add to this list and detail my soon to be upcoming mission for my little troops.